Digital Citizenship

Module 4

ISTE for Teachers Standard 4 – Promote and Model Digital Citizenship and Responsibility.

Teachers understand local and global societal issues and responsibilities in an evolving digital culture and exhibit legal and ethical behavior in their professional practices.

Triggering Events question:

How can I demonstrate understanding of local and global societal issues and responsibilities in an evolving digital culture and exhibit legal and ethical behavior in a cross-cultural International school setting?

Inquiry:

There are really two answers to this question. First, I can demonstrate understanding of local and global societal issues and responsibilities in an evolving digital culture by using online student friendly “news” website while teaching. I often use websites such as, http://magazines.scholastic.com (Links to an external site.) during 4th/5th grade ELA lessons. Since I have such a diverse number of students representing 8 different countries, my students enjoy reading what is going on in their home countries and like to discuss events going on throughout the world. They also like that other students write the articles. My classmate Katlyn Corn shared a website she uses in her class. She commented to our learning circle, “One thing (website) I have already posted about is newsela.com (Links to an external site.). I think this is a really good way to model knowledge about what’s happening in the world through current events. I love the conversations I can have with my students after we have read the same article. Students are able to read about things happening in the world in a grade appropriate way” (Canvas, 2016). While it is important to educate student about what is going on locally and globally, it is also an opportunity for us to exhibit legal and ethical digital behavior. This leads to the second answer of the triggering events questions.

As an educator I need to demonstrate digital citizenship. I can “demonstrate” understanding of local and global societal issues and responsibility by being a “Digital Citizen” in the classroom while using such resources such as newsela.com and scholastic online news. Digital citizenship is a concept, which “helps teachers, technology leaders and parents to understand what student/children/technology users should know to use technology appropriately.” (http://www.digitalcitizenship.net/Home_Page.html (Links to an external site.), 2016) As a teacher I can prepare my students for a society full of technology.

As a digital citizen it is my responsibility to teach my students appropriate ethical behavior while using technology. In the international school environment I work in many students, staff and parents have varying ideas about how technology should be used in school. Despite others valued opinions, I can support the use of technology in our school by appropriately implementing and modeling how to use it positively. I found a wonderful website full of resources (lesson plans and posters) that could help support how I communicate safe technology in my school and classroom: https://www.commonsensemedia.org/educators/scope-and-sequence (Links to an external site.) Using such lesson plans and technology curriculum will continue to help teachers and parents navigate and guide students into making good choices while using technology, ultimately raising up a generation of positive digital citizens.

Conclusion:

As I work towards implementing these wonderful lesson plans into our school curriculum, I can use resources and ideas from such websites.

picture

Figure 1

For example, figure 1 is a poster I could use in the class near the computer lab to remind students how to be a digital student. Technology will continue to develop and evolve and it is our job as educators to model how to use technology in safe and ethical ways.

Reference

commonsensemedia.org

digitalcitizenship.net

magazines.scholoastic.com

newsela.com

This entry was posted in 2 Instruction, 4 Content Knowledge, 5 Learning Environment, 7 Families and Community, 8 Professional Practice and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Digital Citizenship

  1. Tamara, thanks for sharing! Love the insight and that is a great digital citizen poster.

    Like

Leave a Reply

