Communication in the Classroom

Module 3:

ISTE Standard 3:Model Digetal-Age Work and Learning

Teachers exhibit knowledge, skills, and work processes representative of an innovative professional in a global and digital society.

c. Communicate relevant information and ideas effectively to students, parents, and peers using a variety of digital-age media and formats.

 Triggering Events Questions:

How can I communicate relevant information and ideas effectively to diverse groups of multi-cultural/linguistic 4th/5th grade students, their parents, and peers using a variety of digital-age media and formats?

Inquiry:

The way that I communicate with parents is through Friday folders and a monthly email update on student learning. However, I would love to use technology to update communication making it easier for parents to have daily communication. I would love to go “paperless”!

www.educationworld.com (Links to an external site.) offers excellent ideas in how teachers can communicate relevant information and ideas effectively to diverse groups of multi-cultural/linguistic 4th/5th grade students, their parents, and peers using a variety of digital-age media and formats. The three ideas that I found most relevant to my class are:

Classroom Blog

I can use wordpress.com to create a blog for my classroom. On the blog I can post what is going on in the class, communicate learning targets, project reminders, and post a variety of pictures. Parents and students can view the blog. The blog could also be used for students to post what they are learning. Further more I could use the blog to offer linguistic resources and online learning actives that will support their student’s language learning.

We Chat (Chinese version of Twitter)

I have used this in the past at a bi-lingual Kindergarten I was the principal at. Chinese parents really enjoyed getting daily updates and pictures of their children throughout the day. Now, in my international 4th/5th grade class, I could start a parents communication group to pass on information and promote parent involvement. I would most likely limit the group to parents and myself.

Virtual Pin Boards

Virtual pin boards could be used in a variety of ways. www.educationworld.com (Links to an external site.) suggests, “You can use this tool to create boards that you think would interest your parents, such as Books and Activities, Places to Go, or Math and Science Activities.” This would be a great way to help parents gather resources for their children.

Conclusion

While searching for blog ideas I came across an online resources: http://www.scholastic.com/teachers/article/top-14-teacher-blogs. This page linked to several helpful classroom blog pages. In addition to this discover one of my classmates also recommended a sight. He pointed out that, “One of the biggest challenges these days, particularly at schools where families have lower incomes, is ensuring all families have regular access to computers. Often families may access computers less frequently, but no so their phones. A great resource I learned about at this week’s google hangout was this online digital tool: www.edmodo.com (Links to an external site.) (Geoff, 2016, Canvas). I agree with Geoff and hope that I can consider how to use technology to communicate relevant information and ideas effectively to diverse groups of multi-cultural/linguistic 4th/5th grade students, their parents, and peers!

Reference

http://www.educationworld.com/a_curr/stenhouse/classroom-communication-social-media-tips.shtml (Links to an external site.)

This entry was posted in 5 Learning Environment, 7 Families and Community and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Communication in the Classroom

  1. linda says:

    Hi Tamara. The idea of using digital classroom blogs, chats, and virtual pin boards sounds like a great way to utilize technology in order to engage students in learning through communication and collaboration. I am interested to check out the online resources that you shared in my future classroom. Thanks for the post!

    Like

  2. Great post, Tamara! Thanks for sharing your thoughts and these great resources. I’ll have to check them out for my future classroom.

    Like

  3. katlync8 says:

    What a great way to look at communicating with parents. I feel that my classroom could use some of these helpful hints. Thanks for sharing these great ideas to encouraging a more cohesive, family centered, and technology friendly learning environment.

    Like

Leave a Reply

