Technology and Art

Module 1: ISTE Standard 1  – Facilitate & Inspire Student Learning & Creativity 

Trigger Question:

How can I use technology to support 3rd-6th grade student learning during art class?

Inspiration:

Somehow I managed to get through high school and university without taking a single art class. I was okay with this because I did not consider myself a very good artist; my twin sister on the other hand is a very gifted artist. When I started teaching at an international school in far Western China this year, I discovered that the elementary teachers also had to teach one elective. Feeling like I needed to get over my fear of art, I signed up to be the 3rd-6th grade art teacher – that or I had to teach PE! Thus, began my journey of becoming an art teacher. I have asked for support from art teachers in America, scoured resources online and asked my own children for art inspiration. As I continue learning about effective ways to teach art I find myself asking, “what role could technology play in my class, both as a way to communicate lessons and as a mode of art expression?”

Art and Technology

I believe, using technology not only meets different learning needs among students but can also aid in creating a visually rich classroom experience and when used purposefully can ultimately improve student learning (Alaa Sadik, Digital Storytelling,  p. 488). There are two ways in which I could strategically use technology during art lessons to improve student learning.

First, I could use technology to introduce lesson content. I could use Power Point to sequence lesson steps and/or use a video to demonstrate how we are going to work on and complete art projects. An example of how I could do this would be to introduce the art unit using a Power Point or Haiku Deck presentation. This would help students see (slide by slide) what they are going to do and how they are going to accomplish it. I would give them the general overview as well as provide them with step-by-step instruction of what they would do. At the beginning of each lesson, I would show them a clip of what they are creating then skip to the lesson steps that students will be working on. The learning objective and art procedural step would be reviewed in order for students to get a visual understanding of what they are doing. At the end of each lesson presentation I would have a rubric for them to self reflect and use for grading. Using technology in this way would help create a visually rich classroom environment and support students differing multi-sensory learning experience.

Second, I could incorporate technology into the art lesson by having students interact with art by using technology. According to the article, Integrating the Arts with Technology: Inspiring Creativity, “Computer graphics programs in particular can provide alternative

IMG_5969

These art students could use a graphics art computer program to create poster art.

avenues for creative expression.” I like that I could provide my students with a different avenue for creative expression. Although, my school is not equipped with a lot of computers, tablets, cameras or smart boards, I could still rotate my students using the computers so they could each get a chance to explore creating art with technology. I could also use technology to meet individual learning needs. Integrating the Arts with Technology: Inspiring Creativity, further states, “Teachers can help reduce learning barriers by working arts curriculum and technology into student’s individualized education program and the general curriculum.” I can already think of a number of students in my art classes that could benefit using technology to create art. I am excited that there are so many resources available for me to explore to help me figure out how to diversify art lessons with the use of technology.

Some of the suggested computer art programs students could use are as follows:

  • ArtWeaver (windows)
  • Deleter CG illust (windows)
  • Destination Modern Art (online)
  • The Art Zone (online)

Extra Support and Resources:

While researching this topic I also came across this youtube video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fX9Us1Ndwdk. A teacher shares her experience and wisdom in how she teaches art in a technology rich classroom. It is amazing to see what is possible and how she uses technology to increase student’s art ability/interest through the use of traditional methods and modern technology. Moreover, she shares different way educators can get financial support to create a technology rich environment.

After posting my trigger question one classmate offered the following feedback and resources, “ Integrating technology into an art classroom seems like quite challenge, particularity at this age group. At a slightly older level, I could envision integration of various technology-based graphic design techniques. One thought that does come to mind is integrating prompts from The Art Assignment from PBS Digital Studios and John and Sarah Green. Each short (~10 minute) episode features a specific theme/concept, an artist that specializes in that theme/concept, historical context for the theme/concept, and then gives an assignment to create a project relating to the concept. Viewers are also encouraged to share their creations with The Art Assignment. I could imagine that this could possibly be integrated in your 5th/6th grade class. Just a thought (Collison, Kirsten, Canvas 2016).” This is a wonderful resource for me to look into when I introduce a Renaissance art unit in the spring. I look forward to integrating more technology in my art classes in order to support student learning and new avenues of creativity.

Reference

Fuglestad, T. (2012). Teaching Art in a Technology Rich and Connected Classroom. Retrieved January 9, 2016, from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fX9Us1Ndwdk

Integrating the Arts with Technology: Inspiring Creativity. (n.d). Retrieved January 9, 2016, from http://www.ldonline.org/article/30245/

Sadik, Alaa. (2008). Digital storytelling: a meaningful technology-integrated approach for engaged learning. Retrieved from SPU library data base January 14, 2016

The Art Assignment. (n.d). Retrieved January 15, 2016, from https:  https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLdGqz6dgvIzYgUG9MmGy2N84IED9gA-8W 

This entry was posted in 2 Instruction, 5 Learning Environment and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Technology and Art

  1. abangerter1 says:

    I think this your post is so thought provoking. You are in a situation where technology is not readily available, but you are still trying to incorporate it into your daily teaching. Outside of teaching, I know quite a few web designers, product designers, and interior designers. These people may not feel artistic all the time, but their creative eye is what keeps them current and worth the money their companies pay them. Classes like yours are what push students to see past the traditional realms of art and find motivation for what they could do in the future.

    Like

  2. I like your blog, Tamara. It looks great!

    Like

Leave a Reply

